So each country is filled with stereotypes or assumed ideas of people. The following information are thoughts from many people I have met, as well as my own experiences.
How are Americans viewed by Swedes? Not too great I'm afraid. You see, many Swedes think Americans are phony and fake friendliness/ caring about others. Not only that but they unfortunately they have a lot of American tv, especially reality shows, which if you ask me is often highly entertaining, but puts Americans in a bad light. I have heard from several Swedes that Americans seem fake because of our standard greeting. We say, "Hi, how are you?" Americans are said to not really care about how other people really are, which to Swedes translates to falsehood. The thing is, if you're American, you know if someone is asking how you are doing or if they are asking you really how you are doing. To say, "hi, how are ya" in the USA is equivalent to saying "hej hej" in Sweden. It has become a standard greeting.
I honestly think that most Americans are friendly. It is said that Swedes are not friendly people. I would have to say that it is true to a point. I have been met with kindness many times upon meeting people at the store, hospitals, and baby cafe. In public though Swedes can be very brusque.
I have seen on many occasions people shoving their way on or off a bus or train in front of others. In fact it happens every time I take the train. Also a lot of people take up more seats than necessary and will not let others sit next to them. At the grocery store people get in front of others without asking them if they are in line, and while I invite people who just have a couple of items to check out in front of my full cart, and tell Anton to do the same when we're together, he wouldn't dare be so generous if I was not there. There are rude people everywhere of course. But there really is a sense of unfriendliness around a lot of people here. Anton's brother-in-law gave me an example. Smiling at a Swede is like personally assaulting their privacy. Anton may hurt the example of your average Swede though, because his manners are very poor most of the time. Sadly though I feel many of his mannerisms are probably very Swedish.
I have seen on many occasions people shoving their way on or off a bus or train in front of others. In fact it happens every time I take the train. Also a lot of people take up more seats than necessary and will not let others sit next to them. At the grocery store people get in front of others without asking them if they are in line, and while I invite people who just have a couple of items to check out in front of my full cart, and tell Anton to do the same when we're together, he wouldn't dare be so generous if I was not there. There are rude people everywhere of course. But there really is a sense of unfriendliness around a lot of people here. Anton's brother-in-law gave me an example. Smiling at a Swede is like personally assaulting their privacy. Anton may hurt the example of your average Swede though, because his manners are very poor most of the time. Sadly though I feel many of his mannerisms are probably very Swedish.
Swedes have a bad habit of leaving before finishing a conversation too. Or maybe Swedes think Americans are phony again for needing to leave a conversation with a fluffy ending. My close friend Pernilla brought this to my attention. Swedes just finish talking and walk away, while Americans say things like "well it was great seeing you, thank you so much for coming, we'll get together soon, have a safe trip, bye!" Anton's brother-in-law is an excellent example of the saying his last thought and never really closing a conversation. To an American it feels rude, to a Swede it seems normal.
Anton used to think Americans were loud and rowdy. Then he said he realized people in general are loud and rowdy, to consider it an American attribute is just silly. He is loud and rowdy, as am I, as well as our baby Rosa! It's a family trait now.
I am sure there are many more perceptions or truths of Americans and Swedes, but the most recent one I have heard is that Swedes do not like to hire non Swedes, including Americans of course. I was already worried about finding work here because I do not believe I will ever be fluent in Swedish even after immersion and SFI classes. I have heard that I may have it easier than other foreigners because of my extensive English ability. Who knows if any of it is true or not. Also it appears that higher education for many jobs is not as valued in Sweden as it is in the United States. Basically that means they do not care that I have a master's degree, so that won't give me an edge. Good jobs are hard to come by here, but I am told once you have a job, there is great security in keeping it. Who knows what will happen. Maybe I will do nails until I am ready to take on a PhD program. I just hope once I start job hunting it doesn't take me three years or more to find a job like it has for several of the other foreigners I know here.
For now I will continue to try to crush ridiculous stereotypes and perceptions of Americans here by being my outgoing friendly self and help Anton appear less "Swedish" by leading him to be more polite and friendly to others! Until next time...
No comments:
Post a Comment