So some of you know what's going on with my family right now. My heart is heavy with an ache that probably will not be dulled for quite some time. This will probably be the most serious post I will ever write. I must warn you, that while I will try not to be graphic, I must be honest. Call me absolutely selfish, but I am not writing this for you, for your judgements, for your pity, for you to send me your experiences, not that I deny their significance in any way, I just cannot manage more pressure and truths of pain at this time. I am writing this for myself, for hopes of even an ounce of peace of mind, and even though my husband doesn't completely agree, he respects my need for cathartic release.
My husband and I were overjoyed to find out in February we were expecting. Our Rosa would have a little brother or sister in October. We nicknamed the baby "cookie". Today while I am writing this, it is April 10th, not only did Rosa become a year and a half, but it's National Sibling's Day. Today is also the day where we lost baby cookie, who was only 11 weeks and 3 days along. Rosa may have a sibling someday, but not baby cookie.
I knew I was going to miscarry before it happened, only about 12 hours before it happened, but it was enough time for me to mentually shut down to be able to handle what was to come. I have never had a miscarriage before, but knew I was far enough along that this would be most likely an awful experience.
I had bleeding and pain, but when I felt something release and my water broke, which I did not know was possible this early on, I knew what was happening. The second set of EMTS, who visited within 8 hours of each other, left me for a taxi to come take me to the hospital. This was a big mistake. I soiled my pants, and the seat throughly. I lost so much blood both the driver and I were sure at one point I would pass out. I thought if the pain in my abdomen fully released I would die. There were no hysterics, I remained calm. I somehow managed to make it to the hospital by focusing on my lower back pain.
The emergency staff were quick in checking me, but I was checked again after arriving in the care of the gynecologist/obstitrician's office. I will not share what happened next. After finally getting cleaned up I was examined. The doctor who examined me, who totally seemed to be crushing on me said, "you will go straight up to surgery now, but do not worry they will not put you out, they will use a local anastetic". He asked extremely intimate questions, was very handsy, and I'm not quite sure he is like that with everyone. I have to admit I tend to charm health care staff.
I was given an adult diaper to wear since my underwear was thrown out, but I declared that I must keep my pants, I couldn't bear to throw out a perfectly good pair of black slacks even though cleaning them would be a pain. I probably should have just let her throw them out. But let me tell you that this adult diaper is so magical. Thank you Tena from the bottom of my heart for your XL adult diapers. They fit like they were made specifically to contor my body. I really appreciate that. It's ok, you can laugh, I am seriously in love with these adult diapers, I wish I could wear them all the time. I was trying to be humorous at the hospital as well when I could, because I know when I breakdown, which will happen eventually, it will be like a volcano erupting. No one will want to be around.
My new bed for surgery was prepared and I was moved to it, but there was a confusion with the doctors and I had to wait for other patients to be taken care of first. I was taken to a room and had to pull out some rough Swedish to talk to some of the nurses. Generally health care professionals are the only people I do not like to try to speak Swedish to, it is better to speak in your native tongue if they can and for you as well. I was given medicine and I'm not sure when to take it because the verbal instructions were in spoken quickly in Swedish. I am fairly certain she said two before bed and two tomorrow, but I was also delerious when she told me, so who knows!
Fortunately my body let itself relax enough for a hour nap before they came to take me to surgery. Everyone was kind and spoke clearly to me. However, they had a different plan for me. They decided to knock me out for the surgery. I am glad they never told me in advance. I would have argued against it. I am suffering from severe congestion and did not want a mask over my face. When I woke up I asked how much time had passed and they told me an hour. I was able to go back to my room relax, eat, get dressed and sent home. I had a nice taxi driver on the way home who talked with me the whole drive back. He gave me a complement. He said, " it's so nice to be able to have a real conversation with someone". I told him he made my day a little bit better.
I am not sure when my shock will wear off and I will become a complete mess. I am glad I was alone through the worst because I don't believe any of my loved ones could have handled seeing the pain of today up close and personal. I think I will always hide parts of this experience because it is shocking and upsetting to know. Maybe it will hit me when I wash the pants, maybe when my family comes to visit, maybe I will lock this up so tight, it won't be until Rosa has a sibling someday that I finally feel the loss. All I do know is I that I am broken down and scared to feel what I am really feeling. So until my own reality hits me, I want to feel normal and enjoy the beautiful daughter I do have. I don't want to talk about it obsessively. I just want to deal with it in my own way. I hope I have someone who is willing to listen when I do need to talk, but for now, I am as ok as I can be.